Trading Education Platform SystemSubscribe for FreeSupport
Wallets / BitBox02 (Multi and Bitcoin-only editions)
HARDWARE WALLET REALITY CHECK · READ 11 OCT 2026

BitBox02 (Multi and Bitcoin-only editions): what the sources say

Current 2 disclosed weaknesses 1 company incident

Key facts

The questions, with sources

QuestionWhat the sources saySource
Status
Current — Both editions are listed in the official shop on 2026-10-11. The same maker also sells a newer model, BitBox02 Nova (adds Bluetooth/iPhone-iPad support, glass OLED, colours); the home page presents both side by side and does not say BitBox02 is discontinued. Multi and Bitcoin-only are separate products with identical hardware and cannot be converted later.
Company
Shift Crypto AG, Switzerland
List price
n/v — Not verified: the official shop pages as fetched on 2026-10-11 showed currency options (BTC, CHF, EUR, GBP, USD) but no device price in the text available to the researcher (only accessory prices such as Steelwallet USD 73). Third-party retailer prices were not used.
Secure element
Yes: ATECC608B (secure chip, dual-chip design with a separate microcontroller)
Firmware code
Yes (Apache-2.0); reproducible build: yes. Firmware and bootloader repository is public. BitBox states that anyone can compile the firmware and compare the hash with the official release; closed-source status of the secure chip's internal software was not addressed on the pages read.
Companion app
Yes. BitBox states the BitBoxApp is published as open source (security-features page). Repository and licence of the app were not opened.
Connections
USB: yes (USB-C; USB-C to USB-A adapter and extension cable included). Bluetooth: no (BitBox02; the Nova model has Bluetooth for iPhone/iPad). NFC: n/v. QR: no (not stated). microSD: yes (microSD card included, used for backup).
Screen
OLED; touch: touch sliders (capacitive sliders on the device), not a touchscreen
Assets
Multi: Bitcoin, Litecoin, Ethereum with ERC-20 (1,500+ tokens), Cardano. Bitcoin-only: Bitcoin; Bitcoin-only option: yes (separate Bitcoin-only edition; identical hardware, different firmware, cannot be switched)
Multisig and PSBT
Yes. Multisig account registration and verification supported (BitBox security page and Bitcoin-only page). PSBT handling was not explicitly confirmed on the pages read.
Passphrase
Yes. Optional BIP39 passphrase, entered on the device; up to 149 ASCII characters; not part of the backup.
Shamir backup (SLIP-39)
Not verified. No mention of SLIP39/Shamir backup found on the BitBox pages read.
—
Recovery phrase standard
BIP39 24 words (device can display them after password re-entry); microSD backup; BIP-85 child seeds
Optional recovery service
Not verified. No paid or optional recovery service found on the pages read; not explicitly stated either way.
—
FIDO / passkeys
Yes. Multi edition works as a FIDO U2F security key. Not stated for the Bitcoin-only edition. FIDO2/passkey support not stated.
Bug bounty
Yes
Warranty
2-year warranty stated on the official shop page.
—

"n/v" or "not verified" means we could not confirm it from a source we could read. Maker claims are marked as such. Confirm on the maker's site before you buy. Education only, not investment advice.

Summary

Five facts

  • Shift Crypto AG (Switzerland) sells the BitBox02 in two editions with identical hardware, Multi and Bitcoin-only, which cannot be converted into each other [source 3].
  • It uses a dual-chip design with an ATECC608B secure chip and Apache-2.0 open-source firmware with a documented verification procedure [source 4].
  • A fix published on 2026-08-17 (firmware 9.26.5) addressed three firmware issues; BitBox reports no known stolen funds [source 10].
  • On 2026-09-10 BitBox's newsletter provider account was breached and subscriber emails were exposed; BitBox says its internal systems and devices were not compromised [source 12].
  • Works with desktop and Android over USB; iPhone/iPad need the newer BitBox02 Nova [source 1].
Independent checks

Audits

  • date n/v Census Labs (plus unnamed third-party firms as consultants). Scope: BitBox02 firmware source
Device record

Publicly disclosed weaknesses

  • 2026-08 BitBox 'Dixence' update (firmware 9.26.5, published 2026-08-17) fixes three issues: (1) bootloader issue allowing malicious firmware to be installed on a genuine BitBox02 after phishing the user into unlocking it (fixed earlier in 9.26.2, reported externally by SySS GmbH after internal discovery; BitBox02 through 9.26.1; Nova not affected); (2) memory corruption in the Multi edition before a wallet is set up with a malicious host (found internally; Multi through 9.26.4; Bitcoin-only not affected); (3) silent-payment flaw that could lock funds to an unintended address (found internally; 9.21.0 to 9.26.4). Seed not affected per BitBox. Funds lost: no. Fixed source
  • 2019-11 CVE-2019-18673 (older than 5 years): power-consumption side channel in the row-based OLED display; an attacker who controls the USB connection (e.g. implant in the cable) could partly infer displayed secrets such as PIN or mnemonic while shown. CVSS 4.6 (Medium). The CVE page read does not describe a fix. Funds lost: not verified. Fix status not verified source

Disclosed weaknesses are listed whatever their severity. "Funds lost" is what the sources say. "Fixed" means the source states a fix exists, which only helps if you update.

Company record

Incidents at the maker or its service providers

  • 2026-09-10 Attackers exploited a flaw at Brevo, BitBox's newsletter provider, accessed BitBox's Brevo account, sent two phishing campaigns to subscribers (one claiming a 'Microcontroller Entropy' flaw and asking for recovery words) and downloaded the contact list. BitBox says only subscribed email addresses were exposed (no names, addresses, payment or order data) and that BitBox internal systems, BitBoxApp and hardware wallets were not compromised. Customer funds lost: not verified. Outcome: Malwarebytes (2026-09-11) reports no confirmed losses and that the number of recipients who fell for the emails is unknown; BitBox advises deleting/reporting the email and that recovery words are only entered on the device. source

These affect the company or its customers and apply to every device of the brand. They are not weaknesses of this device.

Questions

Questions about BitBox02 (Multi and Bitcoin-only editions)

Is BitBox02 (Multi and Bitcoin-only editions) safe?

We do not give a yes or no, because safety depends on what you need to protect and on facts that change. We found 2 publicly disclosed weaknesses and 1 company incident in our search. Read the sources above before you buy.

Does BitBox02 (Multi and Bitcoin-only editions) need an internet connection?

Signing happens on the device. How the device talks to your phone or computer depends on its connections: USB. The companion app or software that builds the transaction is online.

Who found the weaknesses listed for BitBox02 (Multi and Bitcoin-only editions)?

The page names who disclosed each one when the source does. Several were found by a competing maker's research team or by independent security firms. We cite the affected company's own statement where we found one, and label press-only reports.

Sources

Where this comes from

Not verified: List price in EUR/USD not verified (official shop pages as retrieved showed no device price). Secure-chip certification, Shamir/SLIP39, recovery service, Bitcoin-only FIDO support, audit date and full audit report not verified. A DataBreach.com listing (source 15) claims a July 2025 intrusion exposing customer records (attributed to a threat group by trackers); no BitBox statement or major news confirmation was found, so it is not recorded as an incident. 2-year warranty and Nova comparison come from the maker's pages.

See how we check. To report an error, use corrections and right of reply.