Trading Education Platform SystemSubscribe for Free
WIDER CHECK · NO SCORE · 9 OCT 2026

Gate: what the sources say

MiCA authorized Limited search: no Rigor score

Key facts

Regulation, reserves, fees

MiCAAuthorizedGate Technology Limited · Malta Financial Services Authority (MFSA) · 2025-09-29
Italian residentsNot verifiedRegistry check pending
Proof of reservesPublishedHacken (Jan 2024 report); latest report page names no auditor · 2026-08-19
Spot fees (base tier)0.1% / 0.1%maker / taker

Reserves note: Latest announcement: overall reserve ratio 127% as of 2026-08-19. Jan 2024 report: 115.47% overall. Latest page does not describe method, auditor or how liabilities are computed. Applies to the global Gate platform; EU-entity-specific PoR not verified.

Track record

Incidents and regulator actions found

Security incidents

  • 2025-04-23 Gate.io urgently upgraded its futures services citing 'excessive platform traffic'; futures and copy-trading were temporarily suspended; spot trading, deposits and withdrawals not affected. Outcome: Services restored shortly after; Gate.io pledged 100% compensation for customer losses incurred during the upgrade (excluding market factors); distribution details not stated in source. source
  • 2026-07-11 Reported by Crypto Briefing (third-party): a user alleged USD 1.7M drained from their Gate.io account; Gate.io first said actions appeared user-initiated and no systemic breach, then apologized and committed to a full investigation. Net withdrawals of about USD 207M over seven days were reported. Outcome: Investigation result and any compensation not reported in the source; the user's claimed figure was not independently verified. source

Regulator and court actions

  • 2023-12-28 Financial Intelligence Unit India (FIU IND): Compliance show cause notice to Gate.io, an offshore VDA service provider, under Section 13 PMLA; similar notices issued same day to nine other offshore providers. Outcome: Outcome not found in source read. PRESS OR OTHER SOURCE · official text not found source
  • 2022-02-08 CNMV (Spain): Reported by FinTelegram (secondary source): the CNMV issued an investor warning about Gate.io / Gate Technology Corp. The warning text itself was not read. Outcome: Warning only; no fine or sanction stated. PRESS OR OTHER SOURCE · official text not found source
Limits

What we could not verify

Not verified: Italian acceptance and OAM entry; global operating entity and its licences; incidents (none verified; only an unconfirmed 2024 hack rumour denied by Gate was seen, not listed); outcome of India notice; futures fees for EU; auditor of the latest PoR; whether PoR covers all liabilities. | Incident/legal search done 2026-10-09 via web search; CNMV warning not verified at primary source; 2026 user-theft case based on single third-party article.

Facts are as of 9 Oct 2026. We ran a limited number of searches per exchange, so an empty list is not proof that nothing happened. We did not check the Italian OAM register. Items from press or third parties are reports, not findings by an authority. If something here is wrong or out of date, send a correction with a source: corrections policy. Education only, not investment advice.

Sources

  1. [1] ESMA interim MiCA CASP register (CSV) accessed 2026-10-09
  2. [2] Gate EU: Fees (Gate Technology Ltd) accessed 2026-10-09
  3. [3] Gate Group press release via The Block: MiCA licence (2025-10-01) accessed 2026-10-09
  4. [4] Gate announcement: Latest Proof of Reserves report (as of 2026-08-19) accessed 2026-10-09
  5. [5] Gate.io Proof of Reserves report, Jan 2024 (AAP/Cision) accessed 2026-10-09
  6. [6] Digital Policy Alert: FIU India show cause notice to Gate.io accessed 2026-10-09
  7. [7] Gate Europe launches staking service (2026-05-22) accessed 2026-10-09
  8. [8] The Block: Gate.io emergency upgrade / compensation accessed 2026-10-09
  9. [9] Crypto Briefing: Gate $207M outflows after user theft claim accessed 2026-10-09
  10. [10] FinTelegram: Spanish regulator warns against Gate.io accessed 2026-10-09